Is Driving Without a License a Felony in Warren Virginia
According to Virginia Code Section 46.2-300 no person shall drive any car on any highway until the individual has gained a valid driver’s license. There are certain exceptions to this rule such as non-residents driving on a license from their state, but usually, a local must have a license before driving in Virginia.
Driving without a license is not a felony but a Class 1 misdemeanor in Warren Virginia.
The harshness of fines and possible jail time depends in part, upon whether or not it is a first or following offense. Irrespective of whether the sentence is a first or following offense:
- The court might suspend a driver’s right to drive for almost 90 days
- The sentence will stay on an adult’s public criminal record for lifetime
A first time sentence is reflected a criminal Class 2 misdemeanor, and can outcome in:
- Up to 6 months in jail; and,
- Up to a $1,000 fine.
A subsequent violation is the most severe type of criminal misdemeanor in Warren Virginia: a Class 1 misdemeanor. Possible consequences might be as severe as:
- One year in jail
- A fine of $2,500
Driving without a license in Warren, Virginia is a criminal offense and the authorities classify it as a misdemeanor not a felony. The individual might have to pay heavy fines as well. Such a crime can be damaging to several parts of that individual’s life. The individual might have trouble acquiring a job or getting an apartment because a charge will pop up. An alleged individual will want to contact a criminal law attorney to avoid getting a sentence for driving without a license in Warren, Virginia. An attorney can help in numerous ways. He or she can get the charge dismissed or changed to rather less severe. Otherwise, an attorney can appeal that a judge enforce least punishment or substitute punishment for a sentenced person.
Defenses for Driving Without a License
An attorney can support a client to use several defenses for driving without a license in Warren, Virginia. One defense which can be used by the driver is that he or she was not a local of Warren, Virginia when the officer made an arrest. Citizenship is not instant for certain people, and it does not begin the first day someone transfers to Virginia. A new local does not become a Virginia local for at least 60 days. The 60 days is called the pardon period. A lawyer can help the driver to express the pardon defense.
Receiving a traffic citation for driving without a license does not essentially need that individual to appear in court if the individual pays the fine. Tickets are payable to the General District Court. Fighting the charge of driving without a license in Warren, Virginia can be hard. Once the district lawyer or prosecuting attorney claims that you drove without a valid license, the load of proof is on you to prove that you did have a valid driver’s license at the time of your crime.